There is a saying: ‘The more things change, the more they stay the same.’

Verily for me: never mind technology and its disruptive influences, I still smile when I hear a child laugh, or watch a puppy play.

So then, what about change, per se?

Is all change created equal?

Observing the busyness of people scurrying here and there: complaining about how busy they are, or how there are never enough hours in a day; I am reminded of that time when my father chopped off the heads of our two pet ducks with an axe.

While dad’s grip on the neck of one of the ducks had been firm enough to allow that duck to fall to the ground in a controlled way, his grip on the other duck had not been as tight.

I remember watching the headless duck run aimlessly, but briefly around the back yard until he, too, fell down dead.

So not for me competing in a race with old Father Time; after all, I am mortal, Father Time, everlasting.

Rather, I prefer to remain steadfast to my humanness.

Ever more I continue to delight in eating tasty food, enjoying the closeness between my lovely and me, playing with my dog, smelling deep the scent of a fragrant flower, and marvelling at the beauty of a fine, sunny day – to name just a few of my favourite things.

And as for the social, technological, economic, environmental, and political agents of change: as and when needs be I will learn whatever it is I need to know so as to remain current and up-to-date.

As for the rest: it is a matter of duck and dive for me.

Copyright J Bouwman 2016

Leave a Reply

