Belonging.

A sense of home.

A need.

It is true: ‘home is where the heart is’.

I was visiting my niece who lives near a country town, far from the big smoke. After months of planning, this day, our day was finally here. Just us two enjoying each other’s company.

‘That’s the only thing I need to do,’ says my niece.

We walk a block of the long, wide main street towards the bank.

Standing in the queue, my niece frowns.

‘You’re not bored?’ she asks.

I smile.

‘Some people need to experience big adventures,’ I say. ‘Or, to travel to remote lands to feel alive. For me, right here and now, being in your company is more than enough.’

Belonging.

A thirst quenched.

A need satisfied.

Home.

Copyright Jo 2015

Leave a Reply

